Municipal political engagement statistics in Ontario

Avatar photo
| Published , updated January 18, 2024
  • In 2022, 7% (32 of 444) of municipalities will not hold elections, as their entire councils were elected by acclamation. [source]
  • In 2022, 31% (139 of 444) municipalities had their mayors or reeves acclaimed. Elections were not held in Armour, Armstrong, Brethour, Chamberlain, Chapleau, Charlton and Dack, Dawn-Euphemia, Dorion, Drummond/North Elmsley, East Garafraxa, Enniskillen, Evanturel, Front of Yonge, Gordon/Barrie Island, Hilton, Hilton Beach, Hornepayne, Howick, Kerns, Lake of the Woods, Laurentian Hills, Minto, Oil Springs, Perry, Sioux Narrows-Nestor Falls, South River, Tay, The Archipelago, Thessalon or Thornloe. [source]

Leave a comment

All comments are reviewed prior to appearing on the site.


  • Remember the human. No harassment, bullying, and threats of violence.
  • Be respectful. Provide constructive feedback on specific policies and actions.
  • Stay on topic. Relevance to the subject of the post or to the previous comment.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Do you follow municipal politics in your area?

Join us in our Discord server!